WAITING AT THE GARDEN

image

If death takes my soul so fast 
that I can’t say goodbye,
If senility hits me too early
and my voice gets slurred
or my hand begins to shake,
If I become too weak to walk with you
in the garden of tulips and roses
Then, know that I’m sorry
for the times I made you sad.
Know that I loved you
even when I made you mad.
Know that my pen is heavy
with words I wanted to say
to make you glad.
Know that my heart is full
of poems I wanted to write
to make you smile.
Know that my body is gone
but my soul remains all around you.
Know that I’ll be waiting for you
at the gate of The Garden,
the mother of all gardens,
the garden of silver and gold.

Leave a Reply

